The Next Adventure: 100 Miles

A 60 k mountain trail run from Monarch Pass a few weeks ago confirmed the fact that I am in better running shape than I thought.  Naturally the planning wheels started turning so with a little research at UltraSignUp I found several race objectives. 

One was in my backyard.

So I signed up.

I will be attempting my first 100 mile race at the Boulder 100 this coming weekend.

Am I ready?  Is maybe an acceptable answer?

After a 60 k fun run (yes, fun and run in the same sentence as 60 k) I am going to give it a try.

I should be able to run at least between 50 and 100 miles.

And I will have some company to aid me through the night.  Barry, a climbing partner and fellow long distance sufferer, quickly offered to be my pacer.

I just hope I can keep up with him…

According to the race website this course is “run on the beautiful trails at the Boulder Reservoir with great views of the snow covered peaks. The course is flat with approximately 100 feet gain per lap with an aid station at approximately 3.5 miles. The course will be marked and is non-technical.”

Boulder 100 Course

Having run the 24 Hours of Boulder in 2008 on this course I would substitute boring for beautiful in the description above.

But this is about the personal challenge and not the surrounding beauty of the trail, which at night will be only the glow of my headlamp anyways.

Let’s see what a 100 feels like!

Inyanka yo.

Get out and explore the World!

About Haliku

Mountain climber, ultrarunner, scuba instructor, world traveler, student of life
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Next Adventure: 100 Miles

  1. Xenia says:

    Please tell me someone other than you keeps track of which lap you’re on. I’d forget midway through lap one.

    Good luck and have fun! Look forward to reading your race report.

  2. emily says:

    Of course you can do it! How many laps is 100 miles? I would think that would get boring. Here’s to an injury-free, fun race and a new challenge!

Leave a Reply

