Goodbye Old Friend

One of my climbing partners retired last week. 

I have mixed feelings about this change of events.  I should be happy for the climbs, domestic and international, that we have shared over the last five years but there is a sense of loss.

Logically I knew this was coming after I went to Denali last year with new partners.  Perhaps I was in denial at that point and had to work my way through it?

Even though we will no longer be together when the alpine siren's call pulls my soul to another high altitude challenge we will still keep in touch.

Pretty close touch actually.

As the Phoenix was reborn of the ashes so to has my partner been reborn to another purpose in my life.

 

Now reborn as a rug instead of a rope, positioned at the foot of my bed, he will invoke fond memories for years to come.

Months ago a search turned up Retired Rope Rugs as a recycling option instead of the dumpster behind my flat. 

The owner, Thomas, quickly wove my rope into its new form.

So if you have a rope ready to retire there are options to give it a new life.

 

Get out and explore the World!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Haliku

Mountain climber, ultrarunner, scuba instructor, world traveler, student of life
This entry was posted in Climbing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbye Old Friend

  1. Xenia says:

    Your climbing partner's reincarnation is beautiful.I am forever amused by male sentimentality towards objects. You guys are even mushier than us girls a lot of the time. 🙂

  2. CliffhangerB says:

    Way cool! My ropes just seem to get shorter and shorter as they get closer to retirement so not sure if I'd have enough for a rope rug…but sounds like a neat way or re-using the once trusty lifeline.

Leave a Reply

