At the End of my Rope…

…or rubber band might be more accurate and also boring as a title.

This past weekend found me back east again but not for anything as rigorous as a 77 mile race.  Lots of eating and visiting were on the schedule but some adventure was also to be had.  As you can see from the picture bungee jumping was on the 'to do' list!

The red circle shows a person on her jump.  Since cameras were not allowed and I did not pay the highway robbery prices for my own DVD of the jump the picture will have to do to share this adventure.

After walking out on the crane the bungee cord was attached to my ankles.  Taking a stance at the edge with my toes on the line was an interesting feeling while looking almost 200 feet to the lake below.  The recommended process was to just dive head first to maximize the bounce.  A leaping swan dive was OK but the arc of the dive would possibly shorten the distance and the subsequent rebounds.  We also had the option of how wet we wanted to get or not.  Some chose not to touch, others were dunked up to their waist and I chose for just a touch thank you very much.

My first countdown – 5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1 – JUMP – found me still standing on the ledge.  Similar to sky diving, why would I want to jump off a perfectly grounded platform?  Seriously it took me a moment or two to absorb the view and get my mind to focus on the task.  The brain is an amazing tool to keep the body, and thus itself, alive and this was a perfect example. 

My second countdown found me plummeting head first reaching maximum velocity quickly.  The rush of air sounding in my ears along with the visual cues my eyes were trying to process as the water quickly approached took several seconds to enjoy.  Once this was achieved the remainder of the ride was smooth and actually fun.  I tagged the water up to my forearms which was just what I had requested.  The first rebound took me most of the way back to the platform with a few moments of weightlessness as I reached apogee.  The second, third and fourth rebounds were continuing smaller bounces.  It reminded me of the bounce and flying feeling when using a trampoline; in this case it was a giant trampoline.

Soon a guy in a zodiac (see bottom right of the picture) came in and pulled me into the boat before detaching the cord which returned to bounce another customer.  It was an amazing ride similar to the best roller coasters I have ridden over the years.  I highly recommend trying it.

I think the next time I'll swan dive!

Get out and Explore the World!

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Haliku

Mountain climber, ultrarunner, scuba instructor, world traveler, student of life
This entry was posted in Adventure Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At the End of my Rope…

  1. Xenia says:

    Holy moly! That looks amazing. As well as amazingly terrifying. Although I must say, it's comforting to know an adventurer like yourself still hesitates and requires a second countdown. :)I'm a bit clueless about these things, so bear with my idiotic question, but did you hit/graze the water after you plunged off the crane? I'm not quite sure how bungee jumping works over water.

  2. Haliku says:

    Hmmm…must of been a cut/paste issue as I had water details in there. Fixed now. Cheers!

  3. Ultra'thoner says:

    Looks like fun… I'm not sure I'll ever try it, but I'm not sure that I won't.
    Maybe someday Nathan and you will dare me to do it with you?

Leave a Reply

