A ‘Why Not’ Race – Colorado Colfax Marathon

At Greenland this past weekend I met Allison who is a friend of one of my Denali climbing partners.  This might seem to be a random coincidence but both ultra running and climbing are small tribes and if you are part of both communities you are guaranteed to have friends in common.  But I digress.

 

We ran a few miles together talking about past and future races.  As a marathon maniac she was very versed with the regional races which she uses as training runs for her target races and ultras.

 

After we parted I had hours to think as I ran.

 

“Why not see what races are still open to meet my long run training goals for Laurel Highlands?”  A supported race is certainly better than carrying all the food and water I need for a 25-30 mile run.

 

So I checked marathonguide.com when I got home and booked another training race: the Colorado Colfax Marathon.

 

 

I also mailed my application and check for the Laurel Highlands Ultra 77m in June.

 

It’s turning out to be a great running year.

 

Get out and Explore the World!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Haliku

Mountain climber, ultrarunner, scuba instructor, world traveler, student of life
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A ‘Why Not’ Race – Colorado Colfax Marathon

  1. Ultra'thoner says:

    Of course why not!
    Looking forward to Laurel Highlands!

Leave a Reply

