Next Objective – A Trail Marathon in Massachusetts!

STONE CAT 50 MILE and MARATHON TRAIL RACES
Saturday November 7, 2009   6:15am
Willowdale State Forest, Ipswich, Massachusetts

The race starts and finishes at Doyon School 216 Linebrook Road in Ipswich.  The course is all trails, a mix of double track and single track trail, all in Willowdale State Forest on a 12.5 mile loop.  The course is very runnable but has a lot of rocks and some sections contain many roots. The terrain is rolling with the largest single hill being a 150 foot climb!

It is a mass start for both events. In order to spread the runners out the marathoners will first run a 1.2 miles loop around the school before joining the loop.

There will be at least three aid stations;  at 4.2 miles, 7.5 miles, and start/finish of the loop.

And the best part for me, coming from the mile high city of Denver, is the elevation in Ipswich is around 50 feet! 

Bring it!

I was warned that the race closes out early with 150 runners for each distance so I took the advice of a friend who is a trail running machine (thanks Barry) and put up the cash not knowing if I was even going to be in shape for the race.  I've had several roadblocks to my running this year and until this week I didn't feel ready even for a marathon distance.  So now I am primed and ready to go.  This will be a 'training' run for me to get back to ultra distance so no taper will be preceding the race.  I'll make sure I'm rested for it but the race isn't the end goal, only a stepping stone to longer distances.

Another benefit is my brother and his friend, Mindy, are also running the marathon so I know we'll at least start together and then celebrate afterwards.  I'm also looking forward to meeting fellow trail runners and ultra freaks from the New England clan.

Get out and Explore the World!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Haliku

Mountain climber, ultrarunner, scuba instructor, world traveler, student of life
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Next Objective – A Trail Marathon in Massachusetts!

  1. mindy says:

    Very excited to have you come to Maine and experience the trail running scene – it's going to be a blast! Looking forward to the celebration part afterward, too. You are ready!!

  2. Tim Pruchnic says:

    It is going to rock. I hope those high altitude lungs can keep up. Have to do alotta work to process all this high-pressure oxygen!

  3. Ultra'thoner says:

    I am SO jealous! You all run hard and have a good time for me. I wish I was going! Good luck… but I'm sure luck will not be needed.

Leave a Reply

