Boulder Marathon in Boulder, CO

I did not feel ready for a marathon distance this year so I signed up for the half marathon.  The Boulder Marathon is great for the simple fact that it is a trail run on dirt and gravel that is also a Boston qualifier.

Since I hope to run another race this year I used the half as a training run.  I targeted a 2 hour time which I hit.  After the injuries I had earlier this year it was great to actually sign up for a race!

The weather was hot and sunny with a stiff wind at times.  Naturally the wind was a headwind.  With over 3000 runners, sharing at least part of the course, the Boulder Res was a zoo.

The race is well planned and provided with food and drink.  Plenty of vendor/sponsor tents were also there along with a local band cranking out some tunes.  The massage tent, giving free 15 minute massages, was a very popular post race destination.  The sign up sheet filled up fast with runners being told they had an hour wait ahead of them.  It was a great day in Colorado!  Consider running this race if you want a marathon experience that stands out from the normal race formula.

Get out and Explore the World!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Haliku

Mountain climber, ultrarunner, scuba instructor, world traveler, student of life
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boulder Marathon in Boulder, CO

  1. Katiebell says:

    Wow very condensed race repot. glad you hit your time goal. I'm about to run out to the gym to attempt running again after the Flu….I am beginning to think my job is interfereing with my running….

Leave a Reply

