5.1 and on Injured Reserve

Cold (20s) and windy.  The first 5 miles felt strong and fleet of foot then the right knee started talking back.  I'm not sure what is going on but it is a soft tissue injury–perhaps tendon strain?

6.70 m in 1:00:12 for a 8:59 min/m burning 831 cal

AHR/MHR: 159/176

Vertical +/-: 550 / 581 ft

Either way I don't feel that I should run on it even with the minimal swelling, tightness and pain (0.5 on 0-10) so I am putting myself on the injured list for at least the next two weeks.  Any races I wanted to do the first half of the year will be scratched until further testing since I'm only 8 weeks away from the 50 m I wanted to attempt.  Worst case I hope to salvage the running season by pacing Ultra’thoner at Lean Horse in August and then attempt my first 100 in October at the Boulder 100.  Time will tell.

Read and post comments

About Haliku

Mountain climber, ultrarunner, scuba instructor, world traveler, student of life
This entry was posted in Training, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

