A 24 Hour Run?

I must be insane… 

After my conversion to a trail runner from a marathoner during the Greenland Ultrathon in April I've been looking for the next logical–does that word apply when talking about ultrathons?–race that would fit my already busy training and travel schedule.

I wanted a race in the region without it being a high altitude run.  From the limited selection I started training this week, or more honestly, thinking about training for the 24 Hours of Boulder run in October.

With only one ultra under my fuel belt I discussed my strategy with Ultrathoner.  I will train for a 50m but have the lesser goal of running a strong 50k.  I want to see how much I can improve on my 50k time (a little over 6 hrs) then if I feel ok I plan on running my first 50m.  I used to think running 26.2 was a major goal till I ran 50k making the 26 feel like a training run distance.  I expect the experience of a 50m will allow me to reasonably look at 100k and 100m races in the near future.  If I hit the 50m mark I can finish out the next loop around the course.

So my trail running shoes are ordered and I am gathering county and state park maps to plan my weekend runs.

Get out and explore the World!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Haliku

Mountain climber, ultrarunner, scuba instructor, world traveler, student of life
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A 24 Hour Run?

  1. mindy says:

    Awesome!! You'll be hammering out those 100 milers before you know it!

  2. Ultra'thoner says:

    I am glad you are a convert. These ultra-trail races can get pretty addicting.
    Too bad I won't be able to join you at the 24hrs at Boulder. I could have cheered you on each time you lapped me. As for "logical," there is nothing "logical" at all about the sport of ultrarunning. Before you know it, you will be considering 50 miles to be "just a training run."
    Good luck with training and I hope to see you at Lean Horse!

Leave a Reply

